anything but tropical beer notes # 37

Fuller’s Extra Special Bitter London 5.9%

Fuller’s London Porter, um, that would be… London 5.4%

I’ve been dragging my heels on this; bewildered by all the choice on offer, I haven’t really known where to start. So in the end, rather than getting going with the deliberately obscure, we’ll start our adventures in ale with two big classics from London’s Fullers Brewery. The ESB was the first “ale” I ever tried. It’s a classic but totally unrepresentative of ale generally. Uncharacteristically, it’s high in alcohol, a bit too high for such a sessional beer, and driven by big upfront hops. I think I can safely say I like it because it’s the closest thing I can get over here to Little Creatures Pale Ale. ESB has even created, Pilzen-like, its own style of beer.

An honourable mention to must also go to Porter – again, a classic by which all others are judged; it’s getting us through the rather dismal early months of the year. 18/20 for both.

4 Responses to “anything but tropical beer notes # 37”

  1. Lockie Says:

    I thought your rating scale was out of 10? Oh well, whatever works.

  2. beyondbagot Says:

    so few of my beers on here have even got a rating it’s a whole new world of binary goodness

  3. beno Says:

    good to have you back mate. must still be porter/stout weather over there…

    lets have some dark and stormy stuff

  4. beyondbagot Says:

    espresso stout – two words for you

Leave a Reply

